Keep Me Accountable!

Hello!

I’m exciting to start a new journey here today.  I like so many people have struggled in their 20’s to maintain a healthy lifestyle by eating well and keeping fit. In graduate school, I was down to my lowest weight. I was working out close to 90 minutes a day and I was eating like a single girl on a budget does.  But as I left graduate school, started working a full time demanding job (teaching high school) and settled into a wonderful relationship and new marriage, I am finding it harder and harder to be healthy.  It’s so easy to come home after a challenging day with students and just flop on the couch where I can remain for hours. It’s so easy to open up that bottle of wine, eat through that bag of pita chips, go back for seconds on that delicious meal and then of course eat all the desserts! So it turns out all these things really add up to pounds and sluggishness. It really hit me when I looked at my wedding pictures that were taken about a month ago and all I can think is “man, my arms look really fat” or “look at the beginning of that double chin”.  This is not how I wanted to feel about my wedding pictures.

SO…I keep saying that I’m going to get fit again. I keep saying I’m going to watch my portions. Well I’m saying it again today. Today I am using this blog to become accountable and stay accountable. I am going to record my daily eats and workouts. I’m going to report any advice that I have or have discovered and I’ll share any fun things that happen along the way.

We all must start somewhere and sometimes it takes starting again and again for it to finally stick.  Here’s to a shift to a healthier lifestyle!

I have also signed up for the Holiday Sweat Challenge with runtothefinish and sweatguru so I’ll report on my daily progress with that as well.

Here are my goals as I get started:

  • Drink at least 70 ounces of water daily
  • Eat at least 5 servings of fruits & veggies daily (7-9 is better!)
  • Watch my portion sizes (especially when it comes to sugar & snacks)
  • Do a plank every day
  • Workout for 30 minutes everyday. Alternate strength training, cardio, yoga/pilates, and barre.
  • Run a 5k on New Years Day

Thanks for keeping me accountable!  ~Caitlin

Leave a Reply

